Mon07232018

LAST_UPDATEMon, 23 Jul 2018 8pm

What Time Is The Manny Pacquiao Vs Lucas Matthysse Ring Walk? All You Need To Know About Malaysia Fight

Pic: Talk SportPic: Talk Sport

Pacquiao’s boxing career plays second fiddle to his political quests nowadays, as he has become a senator in his home country.

As a result, he has been out of the ring for a year and is suspected to be far past his prime.

His opponent, Matthysse, on the other hand, is fresh from a January win against Thailand’s Tewa Kiram.

However at 35, it is feared the Argentinian could also have seen his best years already.

Below is all you need to know about Manny Pacquiao v Lucas Matthysse.

What time is the fight?

Because of the time difference (with Kuala Lumpur being 15 hours ahead of Las Vegas and 12 hours ahead of New York) the timings for this fight are complicated.

It is taking place on the Sunday morning (July 15) in Malaysia, meaning it is a typical primetime US broadcast on Saturday night (July 14). Therefore it is planned to air in the early hours UK time on Sunday July 15 – same as can be expected with any American fight.

According to Top Rank, the expected ring walk time is as follows:

Malaysia time: Sunday, July 15, 11:30am

UK time: Sunday, July 15, 4:30am

American Eastern Time: Saturday, July 14, 11:30pm

American Pacific Time: Saturday, July 14, 8:30pm

The fight will begin in the early hours of Sunday morning, UK time

Where will the weigh-in take place?

The weigh-in for Manny Pacquiao v Lucas Matthysse will be hosted at the 87,000 capacity Bukit Jalil National Stadium.

Where will the fight take place?

The fight itself will be at the 14,500 capacity Axiata Arena.

Who is training Manny Pacquiao?

For the first time in 16 years, Manny Pacquiao will not be trained by Freddie Roach when he steps into the ring against Lucas Matthysse. Instead the Filipino will be under the stewardship of former assistant trainer Buboy Fernandez.

Who is on the undercard?

Also on the Malaysia bill, Jhack Tepora will face Edivaldo Ortega for the WBA ‘interim’ featherweight title, Moruti Mthalane will face Muhammad Waseem for the IBF flyweight title and Carlos Canizales will defend his WBA ‘regular’ light-flyweight belt against Bin Lu.

- TalkSport