Malaysian Parole System More Successful Than Advanced Nations - Wan Junaidi

  • Print

Deputy Minister of Home Affairs Datuk Wan Junaidi Tuanku JaafarDeputy Minister of Home Affairs Datuk Wan Junaidi Tuanku JaafarKUALA LUMPUR: The parole system implemented by the Prisons Department of Malaysia recorded a success rate of 98.8 per cent, much higher than those in countries such as the United States, Australia, and Canada.

Deputy Minister of Home Affairs Datuk Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar said that since its implementation in July 2008, only 1.72 per cent, or 154 of 8,935 prisoners had their parole order revoked and sent back to prison to continue their sentences.

"Since it was implemented, 8,935 prisoners have been involved in the parole system with 8,475 of them having finished their parole orders, and 450 of them still undergoing it," he said when winding up the debate on the Prisons (Amendment) Bill 2014 in the Dewan Rakyat here today.

The Bill was passed after its third reading by Wan Junaidi. It was tabled for second reading last Oct 9.

The amendments, among others, is to create the posts of Deputy Commissioner General of Prisons and State Prison Directors as well as to amend the mechanism and power to implement international prisoner transfers.

Wan Junaidi said the move to create the two new posts was to ensure that the administration of the Prisons Department was more efficient and systematic.

"Currently, only Sabah and Sarawak have directors at the state level, and with this implementation in all the other states. It will make prison administration, prison officer training centres and the parole system more smooth.

Regarding international prisoner transfers, Wan Junaidi said that to date, nine countries had expressed their interest into entering an agreement with Malaysia for the programme, which is to facilitate the transfer of Malaysian prisoners back here, or their citizens in Malaysian prisons, back to their respective countries.

The nine countries are South Korea, Philippines, Saudi Arabia, Bulgaria, Iran, Turkey, Azerbaijan, Latvia and Romania.