LAST_UPDATEWed, 18 Jul 2018 11pm

Dewan Rakyat Members Take Oath On July 16

KUALA LUMPUR -- All MPs will take their oath of office on July 16 when the Dewan Rakyat convenes for its 20-day first meeting of the first session of the 14th Parliament.

Dewan Rakyat secretary Datuk Roosme Hamzah said in a statement today that the MPs would be sworn in after the election of the Speaker and Deputy Speakers of the House.

The Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Sultan Muhammad V, will officially open the first meeting on July 17.

Roosme said two weeks would be devoted to the debate on the motion of thanks for the royal address and the ministers would wind up the debate in the third week.

“The fourth and fifth weeks will see debates on Bills and other government matters,” she added.

Roosme said a briefing would be held for all members of the Dewan Rakyat on June 26 at the Banquet Hall of Parliament as an introduction and guidance for the MPs on the matters associated with the meetings and the facilities available.

She also said that the Dewan Negara would meet from Aug 27 to Sept 13.

All members of the Dewan Negara would also attend the official opening on July 17, she added.